Thrifty Car Rental Reviews

Show reviews that mention
car thrifty customer service service customer airport rental credit card card car rental
Filter review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Explore video interviews
Update by user Feb 02, 2021

Although I did speak with a representative from Thrifty/ Hertz and conveyed my experience and concerns and was assured that someone from corporate would contact me. That was weeks ago, I've heard from no one and don't expect to. It seems that this company doesn't care...

View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2025857

How can we fight Thrifty? They are charging me $303.00 over what is in the contract.

Then after we flew home they sent a letter say they are charging $10.99 for a $1.00 toll that they say we missed. There is a ton more to say about these people! Bottom line they are thieves taking advantage of people who waited over an hour & one half. They ask me for my drivers license & credit card just like they did everyone else.

I was ready, had my license & credit card in hand.

The guy at the counter said sign here & I did thinking I was being charged the $118.17 that I owed. Nope, not so much, they charged me $371.76 which is $253.59 more than I agreed to.

View more comments
Featured
ID
#2357096 Review #2357096 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Denver, Colorado
Service
Thrifty Car Rental Customer Care
Cons
  • Rude clerk
Preferred solution
I want a conversation with a company Rep. Hopefully someone high enough in the food chain to make a difference.
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: UNclean minivan

Thrifty Car Rental - UNclean minivan
Thrifty Car Rental - UNclean minivan
Thrifty Car Rental - UNclean minivan
Thrifty Car Rental - UNclean minivan
Update by user Sep 17, 2020

Please take my complaint downI actually THOUGHT I was writing ThriftyI don’t like social media and don’t want any part of it.

Original review posted by user Sep 17, 2020
Picked up a van that wasn’t clean for Portland’s airport offsite office! We had small children with us who were already tired and hungry from the flight, so chose not to turn around and head back in and get another minivan and reload! 7 of us and all our fishing gear-hole in the ceiling and dirty carpet, scuff marks all over walls, dirty windshield and outside also Many items began to appear from under the seats then as we traveled! A shoe and a cell phone underwater case and various items! When we returned to Portland on Monday to get our flight, it was cancelled and we needed to just head eastward to our homes in Salt Lake, as we had much salmon and crab! A very nice man at thrifty said we could just go ahead and drive this minivan home, instead of wasting time reloading and so we did! It wasn’t an awful minivan but I wanted you to know it WASNT CLEANED and this didn’t feel so great in current pandemic!
View full review
Resolved
ID
#2175304 Review #2175304 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Thrifty Car Rental Car Rental
Pros
  • Price
Cons
  • Unclean car
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Flat tire

On hold for 50 mins before hanging up without resolution. Freaking horrible!!!!!!!!!!! Please never rent with thrifty evveeerrrr..
View full review
ID
#2712841 Review #2712841 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New London, Connecticut
New Reviewer

Phoenix AZ Thtifty added extra charges that we denied it.

Was told that our personal car insurance would be enough but we had to choose the last option. This added over $300 to our total bill and then the service rep added roadside assistance on top of it and we werent asked if we wanted it. We realized it after we got to our hotel and called customer service. We were told that we had to go to back to the airport to resolve this because the on line rep couldnt do anything about it. WE ARE ON A FAMILY VACATION! Feeling scammed.

User's recommendation: Go to another car rental.

View full review
ID
#2712290 Review #2712290 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Thrifty Car Rental Customer Care
Cons
  • Unwarranted charges
  • Dishonest employees
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I'm requesting a review of my rental for 4 days. I feel that I was over charged for a vehicle that I already paid for on 07-01-2021 in the amount of $396.42 though Memberdeals.com. I already ask for an SUV so why did I have to pay extra for that? I did not requeat an...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2698456 Review #2698456 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

Complaint

Never answered after 15 minutes. Called the local office and they said to check in that night at 10pm to see if they had the vehicle I paid for.

User's recommendation: Don’t use.

View full review
ID
#2689387 Review #2689387 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Dishonest employees
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

Items left in car

Sun glasses were left in car at Seattle airport july14 about 9:30am. Efforts to contact an agent were futile. Rental number 11297**** Car license 8NAD935
View full review
ID
#2683106 Review #2683106 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Seatac, Washington
Preferred solution
Return of sunglasses
New Reviewer

Long lines and no workers

LI have been in line for two hours and they have a long line are no workers ...I will never use this company again. It will be another hour before I get a car. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY !! With all the technology that is available you would think that they could incorporate a system that is better than this. Denver Thrifty .. 3 service people and more than 40 customer. I give Thrifty a ZERO RATING . NEVER AGAIN !!!!
View full review
ID
#2680884 Review #2680884 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Get some people to work ...

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Wrong billing - damaged car

the worst customer servicte ever, I was over charged even thought I pre paid for the car. the car they gave us had a broken car handle; we took the car back to exchange it and ask thenm to remove the insurance because we declined coverage. they had to do a new contract and charged us $150 for 1 day, the whole week charge was @308....horrible service!!!

User's recommendation: avoid them even if they don't charge you.

View full review
ID
#2667859 Review #2667859 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$152
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Edit car rental

Paid for a jeep but they were unable to give me a jeep. I need money back for the difference. They said jeeps were not available to anyone with a debit card. Plus they had a lot of other rules and regulations that were not talked about before. They sure did let me pay ahead of time though.

User's recommendation: It depends on how this process goes.

View full review
2 comments
#2031799

That thing you didn't read, but signed, that was the agreement / contract... Read it and you'll get your answers.

#2032491
@PissedConsumer2031799

I payed for a Jeep, was given a Kia car. I should get money back or get what I payed for.

View more comments (1)
ID
#2661269 Review #2661269 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Wrong Billing

Thrifty Car Rental - Wrong Billing
We rent a car from thrifty Los angels Airport from 6/13-6/17. We returned the car as scheduled at 17th around 12:45, I double checked with 2 different staffs, they both told me just leave the car key, and it was all set. But somehow the car hasnt been processed in time. We received a billing with 5 days extra charge from 6/13-6/22. Renter name is Deli Cui. And the rental agreement number is 10098****. I have my flight tickets as proof that we were back to Washington States at 17th, so that is impossible for us using the car for extra 5 days. I tried to call customer service many times, but never answered. Please give me a feedback. Thank you.
View full review
ID
#2647649 Review #2647649 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Los Angeles, California
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Price reduction

Over charged

I am so disappointed with the process from thirty Sad I will not be using thifty in the future still waiting.....
View full review
ID
#2644623 Review #2644623 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

Hidden charges

Didnt get any explanation on any additional charges. I was charged double the amount to my credit without me knowing. Unacceptable. I had to wait 3 hours to get a car that was not even that one I reserved.

User's recommendation: Hidden fees.

View full review
1 comment
#2027385

What you're saying is you didn't bother to read anything.. Lesson learned

ID
#2635733 Review #2635733 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Kissimmee, Florida
Cons
  • Long line
  • Substitution car
  • Never know how to speak to customers
Preferred solution
Price reduction

Extra charges/hidden charges

NI have been charged an amount I never agreed. Double charges. A month later I see the charges on my credit card. Unacceptable. I paid double than I was supposed to pay. Waited for three hours to get a car that I didnt even reserved!!!!

User's recommendation: Never.

View full review
ID
#2635716 Review #2635716 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Johnson City, Texas

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Complaint

arrived yesterday night to Miami Airtport (7,30pm)and the office was closed. I had to rent a car in another facility (Budget) I made the reservation with carrentals. confirmation J791189****
View full review
ID
#2613355 Review #2613355 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$171
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Bait and Switch

Update by user Jul 14, 2021

It is not 15 July, and I have not heard from the rental car company or the location on Turks and Caicos. Wonder how many other unsuspecting renters have suffered the same fate and our family?

Update by user Jun 16, 2021

As of 16 June, I have heard nothing from Thrifty corporate and/or the rental location.

Original review posted by user Jun 14, 2021
We made reservations for a MID SIZE Thrifty rental car while in Provo, TCI. We were given a subcompact Mazda Demio and charged the same amount as a midsize. Told them it would not hold 4 adults with their luggage. We were crammed into the car getting to our destination. To this point, Thrifty has done nothing to help correct an obvious wrong.

User's recommendation: Beware of this place while visiting Provo!

View full review
ID
#2608389 Review #2608389 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Thrifty Car Rental Car Rental
Pros
  • Dont know
Cons
  • Getting wrong size car
Loss
$334
Preferred solution
Full refund

Question on bill

We were over charged and no one would help me or go over bill with me. It was on my credit card I had to pay but no one would explain extra charges

User's recommendation: Go ANYWHERE else.

View full review
ID
#2605767 Review #2605767 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Brookfield, Illinois

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article